Creating My Very Own Villain

In a typical story, you have your hero and you have your villain.

Your hero would be courageous, strong, with a good sense of good and bad and other heroic values a hero should have. Usually, the hero is perfect and if you add a flaw, in the end, the hero would overcome it. Every story ends with a happily ever after.

Now, let’s try visualizing our villain. The villain would be evil, aiming for world domination or just simply aiming for the lead guy or girl. Or maybe someone who’s just projecting whatever misfortune they had to anyone unlucky enough to cross their path.

Now, to my dillema. Do I create a villain who is just evil to the core or a villain who’s just misguided and could possibly turn good in the end?

It’s been a struggle for me to create a villain. I usually end up creating a one dimensional character whose sole purpose is to antagonize my main character, nothing more.

I know for a fact that a hero usually is the driving force of the story but recently I realized the importance of creating a worthy rival.

I’m still a budding, newbie, amateur, young writer and I totally have lots I need to learn more to be able to write a decent story. But every problem or struggle I face when writing, I learn from them and make sure to take down notes.

My journey as a writer is just starting. Lots and lots of practice needed. A legion of heroes and a coven of villains more to create.❤

5 thoughts on “Creating My Very Own Villain

  1. This is a really important subject! Would you mind if I add in my two cents? I’m new to your blog, and don’t know if you’re just thinking out loud here (and aren’t looking for strangers’ input) or are looking to strike up conversations with fellow writers. =)

    Liked by 1 person

      • Awesome! =D

        In my opinion, the most interesting characters–protagonists and villains alike–are complex and realistic people.

        No real person is “good” or “evil.” Everybody is some shade of gray in between the two. We all have positive and negative traits, and it’s the conflict that those traits produce that make us (and well-written characters!) really fascinating.

        Those positive/negative traits offer internal conflict (what will I do when my selfishness is at war with my compassion for someone else’s suffering?) and external conflict (what happens when my strong sense of justice has to face the reality that my best friend just robbed a bank?). Well, okay–that second example offers both internal conflict (what will I do?) and external conflict (how will my relationship with my best friend change?), but you get the idea!

        On the other hand, if you have a “good” character (who has maybe a couple flaws) going against an “evil” character (regardless of whether they can or can’t be turned “good” in the end), the conflict is very flat and simple. It’s good versus evil. I as the reader can predict how that conflict will turn out, and being able to predict stuff makes for boring reading.

        But it’s not boring for everyone! Children’s books are much more likely to feature good-vs-evil, because kids (especially very young ones) don’t have a grasp on the whole “everyone is both good and bad, in their own way” thing yet. For kids, the world’s much more black and white.

        And I’m sure there are great young adult, new adult, and adult books out there that deal with capital-G Good versus capital-E Evil; I just don’t know of any, and they’re certainly not the norm.

        I don’t know what age level your intended audience will be, but if you’re hoping to write for a young adult, new adult, or adult audience, I’d definitely recommend that you explore the possibilities of making your hero and villain more gray than black and white.

        One website that I absolutely, 1000% love has a TON of amazing posts about . . . well, everything writing-related. I’d highly recommend you read as much of the site as you can! But her posts about how to write characters might be especially helpful:

        https://www.helpingwritersbecomeauthors.com/

        On the left sidebar is a link to three different “How To” series, and they’re all amazing. And if you use the search function on the right sidebar to look up things like “character,” “protagonist,” “hero,” “villain,” etc., you’ll just about drown in great advice.

        Actually, I probably should’ve just linked to that website instead of writing my super-long comment here. *Dies.*

        Sorry I rambled so much! And I hope you find that website as helpful as I have. =)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Wow. Thank you for your insights. Hmmm.. I guess it’s a bit bland to just focus on good vs evil thing. I’ll totally check that link!❤ I’m having an overflow of ideas because of your “try gray” suggestion.. Thanks so much!😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

