T5W | Books You DNF

Top Five Wednesday is a tag originating on youtube (booktube), created by Lainey of gingerreadslainey.

I guess it’s Top 5 Wednesday again and for this time it’s the Top 5 Books You DNF.

So, I don’t usually DNF books and sometimes my mood has a big factor for the DNF, I’ll get back to them soon (hopefully). But so far, here is my list:

1. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green.

image

– a very helpful friend told me the ending whilst I’m still starting the book.

2. Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley.

image

– I wasn’t in the mood for a dystopian kind of book when I started reading this.

3. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. (I have a blog post about this book 😛)

image

– the characters sort of pissed me.

4. The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown.

image

– why did I DNF this? Is it bad that I can’t remember?

5. The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan.

image from google

image

– I made the mistake on reading this while still emerged on the Percy Jackson world.

But someday, somewhere, somehow, I’ll get back to them. 😥

25 thoughts on “T5W | Books You DNF

  1. City of Bones, I liked it but there were several moments where I wanted to drop it so badly. People say the series gets better over time, but I’m not sure if I’m going to continue the series anytime soon. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow… DNF TFIOS but when someone ruins the ending, assuming it was ruined, you kind of lose the desire to finish. I did like the Da Vinci Code though. I’m going to check out your COB post because I’m working through TMI series right now.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can’t blame you for dropping CoB, and, honestly, it doesn’t get much better later on (I recently finished book 3 and I still want to throw something out of the window whenever Clary speaks, Jace too).

    Liked by 2 people

      • omg yes! About halfway through the book I gave up on reading it and switched to the audiobook because that was really the only way I managed to get through it. Honestly if I read another paragraph where Jace is compared to an angel, or there’s some ridiculous simile/metaphor, I *Will* chuck something out of the window.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. City of Bones was kind of “meh”, but the next two books in the series were really good and then the series started to go downhill again fast! I suffered through the last two books in the series badly.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I agree on City of Bones, I really don’t get the big deal about the series, but I was on the fence about continuing the series so that’s why it’s not on the list. I did read The Fault of the Stars, which was also spoiled for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Two of your books made me gasp in shock lol.The Fault in our stars is the last book I’d expect to see on any DNF list but I get your explanation.Sorry you missed out on that one.I enjoyed Da Vinci Code though I haven’t read any other Dan Brown.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I rarely DNF a book but I do have a couple:

    Bring up the Bodies – Hilary Mantel.
    Her writing is beautiful but you need to concentrate so hard so as not to get lost. It gave me a headache.

    Chocolate Lovers Club – Carole Matthews
    Drivel. Nothing else can describe it, I didn’t care what happened!

    I haven’t read any of yours, I have heard bad things about the quality of the writing in City of Bones. I might read it for a case study 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I didn’t like the fault in our stars a lot either but I did finish it and honestly I am not a huge fan of Cassandra Clare’s City of bones series so I am not going to blame you for not being able to finish it. I personally, only finished it cause I have some OCD-ish issue where if I start a series it takes a lot of convincing for me to stop reading it, even if it sucks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

