10 Hyped Up Books On My TBR

I know it’s way past Friday (it’s Saturday in here) but I really like to do this new meme : #HypeOrLikeFriday

I’ve learned of this meme from rantandraveaboutbooks

Hype or Like Friday is a meme created by JillianLarkin, and Britt to discuss about hyped books and see if they’re hyped up or not. There would be book of the month that you can read, and then post your review for it on the end of the month, then rate it whether it’s a hype it or like it.

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken is the book of the month.

For this week, topic is Top 10 hyped up books. 

So I have this tiny aversion to hyped up books. I just don’t want to read them because…nope. But still, since I’ve been seeing them on a lot of posts, they managed to land on my already overwhelming TBR list. Here are some books on my TBR which are hyped up but I haven’t YET found the courage to read:

image

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken – huh, the book of the month is on my TBR, I might be able to read it.lol

image

A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray – when I was looking for multiverse/parallel universe kind of books, this one always comes up.

image

Soulless by Gail Carrier – this is the first book on a series. Always dubbed as funny and amazing. The blurb seems confusing but a lot are saying it’s great. I’m still trying to gather enough enthusiasm to dive into this.

image

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – this one is a common cover/title I’ve been seeing a lot these days. Majority have a good review for this book so I decided, why not?

image

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover – I haven’t read any Colleen Hoover novel (don’t hate,lol) but I’ve heard good, scratch that, GREAT things about Colleen Hoover’s books. Now, this book has mix reviews. It will be my first book from this author, yes or no?

image

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab – yay! I’ve been meaning to read this. The blurb is totally amazing. Why haven’t I read this yet?

image

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas – well, I haven’t read any Sarah J. Maas novel too. Please don’t kill me! But they do look interesting, see that book cover? Adorbs right? :mrgreen:

image

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare – City of Bones is still on my DNF, so I’m not too sure about this. Some did say that this trilogy(?) is better than The Mortal Instruments.

image

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater – Someone (you know who you are) introduced this book to me. With high recommendation, kind of Harry-Potter-like awesomeness, so I’m a bit hesitant. But I really would love to read this…

image

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin – I’ve seen the TV series. But this book scares me. It’s complex, diverse, complicated (based from reviews). It has a huge following. It’s too long on my standard but it has a LOT of promises. Shall I start this one?

image

What do you think of the books on my list?
Have you done this meme yet?
Share me your link.❤

12 thoughts on “10 Hyped Up Books On My TBR

  1. Don’t start with Ugly Love lol. I haven’t read it though its on my April TBR. I read November 9 though and it was amazing. Ugly Love has so many negative reviews so it may throw you off Hoover’s books if you end up not liking it. Awesome list and meme. I will participate next time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If you read Ugly Love as your first Colleen Hoover book, you might not want to read her other books, which is a shame because her other books are really good. I would recommend starting with Maybe Someday or Slammed. I don’t think anyone liked the characters from Ugly Love. They don’t have any redeeming qualities either.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am reading Throne of Glass at the moment, I don’t get the readers’ love for Celaena. I watched Game of Thrones before reading the book. I can’t stand Martin’s writing, it bore me to death so I never made it to the 2nd book. Same as you, I have yet to read a Colleen Hoover book, but the hype is huge and I don’t want to be disappointed so I’m putting it off!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve heard about Throne of Glass but it’s not on my TBR. Game of Thrones bored you? Oh, the reasons for not reading this book is increasing. Lol. I really don’t like reading a book with too high of an expectation and then the book doesn’t deliver at all. I try avoiding disappointments, thank you very much…

      Like

      • Lol you can totally live without reading GoT! There are already so many disappointments with life itself, it’s better to avoid it in books too, but I can’t help it sometimes, I have to see for myself, even if it means feeling deflated.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Game of Thrones is so long it’s like reading the dictionary. It’s multiple POVs and George R. R. Martin does it well, but the fact that’s it’s been 20 years and he hasn’t finished the series makes reading it a complete waste of time.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I have already read the Clockwork series and thankfully when I started Game of Thrones I was not aware of all the hype (I still haven’t read dance with dragons *sigh*) And I don’t really know if you should read the book cause I read the 4th book ages ago and now I don’t remember a majority of it… and the 6th book doesn’t seem to be coming out anytime soon.

    I have been wanting to read Soulless for some time but I wasn’t aware that it was a very hyped up book *sweats nervously*

    *reads the text under Raven boys and giggles maniacally*

    Liked by 1 person

      • I honestly do not know about George Martin. He gets angry when anyone asks him when it will come out but honestly WHAT ARE WE SUPPOSED TO DO??

        And sorry again for hyping up Raven Boys. It really isn’t THAT hyped up and there are some people I know who didn’t like it a lot but I just loved it so much I can’t control myself XD

        Liked by 1 person

      • We all have our favorite book or book series. Each book affected us differently. I mean I’ve been promoting Fantasyland Series because it affected me a lot. Then someone commented they haven’t heard of it. There are a lot of jewels hidden in treasure box of books and this blogging helps me unearth a lot of them. I’m being melodramatic, lol.

        As for George Martin, he needs to write THE FINALE of that book so I can start reading it. I don’t want to worry when the next or last book will be out. I want the security that it’s a done deal. And I’ll just breeze along the book series knowing it will come to an end.
        The Raven Boys is on my TBR third series spot. Meaning, I still have two series line up before I can read it. My TBR is just sooo HUGE. *sigh*

        Liked by 1 person

      • I totally get what you mean. Lots of my friends hadn’t heard of Raven boys and Mistborn which I loved so much and couldn’t imagine being unheard of.

        And yes I too think it would be better if you started with ice and fire AFTER the series is complete.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

