The Ugly Stepsister – Book Review

Title: The Ugly Stepsister
Author: Aya Ling

image

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

It’s been too long since I read a book that I was unable to put down till the end. Starting this book, I expected a light, funny, fairytale-like kind of read. When I saw the blurb of this book, WOW.

If you mistakenly triggered a curse and ends up inside the Cinderella world, who would you be? The predictable thing would be, you’ll end up to be the protagonist. But no, on this book Kat takes the role of one of the evil step sisters, Katriona. I can remember my recent post about adventure as a princess and this book interests me A LOT. Cinderella’s name here is Elle, the prince is named Edward, so classic. The other evil sister is Bianca.

I had a lot of fun on the earlier part of the book. It was hilarious and witty and facepalming (I invented this word, lol) moments. Kat’s adjustment to being a lady was a long way. Here are some snippets from the book that made me laugh:

✳ I’m told to practice my embroidery—Lady Bradshaw sternly advises that a woman should always have mastery of her needle, no matter her class. Of course I pay no attention.

✳ Fanology: Fifty Rules of Flirting with Your Fan (You have got to be kidding me).

✳ “This water is for your daily wash, Miss Katriona. It’s not meant for consumption.”

✳ Geez. Being a noble lady is as hard as the stories say.

The world building is amazing and spot on. I can easily imagine myself on Athelia. I didn’t expect how the author will use the premise of the story to show how women were mistreated on early times. Women empowerment and all. Amazing!❤

I felt Kat’s struggle to break the curse and her efforts to go home to her family. Her feelings, motivations, and priorities clashing all through out the story.

I’ll say no more. I tried not to give spoilers. This is a great book! Highly recommended.👍

3 thoughts on “The Ugly Stepsister – Book Review

  1. Pingback: Ravens Friday Finds | Raven & Beez

Leave a Reply

