‘The First Book Is The Scariest’ Mentality

I’m currently in a reading slump. And I’m hoping to get over it. I scanned my reader to search for the right reading-slump-breaker and what catched my attention? These books did:

image

1.) Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
2.) A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab
3.) Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
4.) Red Rising by Pierce Brown
5.) Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
6.) A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

These are all promising books but all of them are the first book on a series. Can you feel me? The expectations are high and I don’t want to be disappointed. BUT I’ve heard good things on these books. Oh, and I only have these books, not the other books on their series. What if there’s a cliff hanger, what am I supposed to do?

What to read? I really want to dive into another world and start a new adventure. I need to get over my reading slump. Because I can’t read any, I’m kinda busy adding up books on my TBR. Ugh, the horror! Lol.

Can anyone suggest a book, good for breaking a slump? Anyone? Love you all!😁

13 thoughts on “‘The First Book Is The Scariest’ Mentality

  1. I liked Court of Thorns and Roses more than Daughter of Shadow and Bone. I think Daughter of Shadow and Bone starts off well but I didn’t find myself that attached to the world Taylor creates in the end. Court of Thorns and Roses is addictive!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Six of Crows and A Darker Shade of Magic are really good. If you need to get back into the reading game, I would definitely recommend those two. Actually all of those books you listed up there is pretty good.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. If you are wary about starting a new series I would recommend V.E. Schwab’s stand alone Vicious. I haven’t started her series but I recently finished that book and it was amazing. I just finished Six of Crows and it left me in one of the worst book slumps I’ve been in for awhile. It was amazing but the next one doesn’t come out until fall.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. OH GOD! I feel ya mate. I haven’t started any of those series either and they keep haunting me. I guess a good book to come off of a slump is definitely a stand alone book or a graphic novel (But most of the graphic novels are either never ending or still ongoing)

    I guess you could read Stay where you are and then leave by John Boyne. It’s a standalone book set during World War 1 and it’s middle grade. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

