My Book Moments For This Week (Jun1-11)

Moment#1: I finished these books.

In eleven days I only managed to finish 2 books.😿 So this would be like a mini-review:

image

1. Rock Chick by Kristen Ashley
– I was a bit disappointed on this. I don’t have issues on the writing, it was ok, but I have a major issue on the lead characters.

Indy, the female lead, is sooo reckless I always forget that she’s already 30. She needs to grow up! When someone tells you to stay put because it’s dangerous, you should listen. But no! Our heroine here doesn’t listen to anyone. She needs to be doing something, anything to put the spotlight on her. There’s a kidnapper aiming for her on the loose, a psycho, but this girl badly needs to get outside. There’s a bar brawl? She needs to check how a stun gun works and joins the fun.

What I also dislike about her is her instinct or reflex to flirt at any hot guy she encounters even though she’s adamant that she’s been in love with Lee (lead male) since she’s five years old.

Now, Lee is cocky. I don’t know how many times that word came out as a way to describe Lee, but it really fits. If I were Indy, I won’t take him back. But you know Indy, in love since five, can’t really help but say yes. She did try to resist, I’ll give her that.

I was expecting more from this because Kristen Ashley wrote this. But it’s so different from her Fantasyland Series, so maybe I have my own biases. And maybe I can’t relate on majority of the music/movie references used on this novel. I’m giving it 3🌟.

2. Gone by Michael Grant

image

The blurb is interesting. One day everyone who is 15 years old and above disappeared. Poofed out in thin air. A somewhat cylindrical barrier errupted caging in the kids that were left behind. Kids 14 and below are the only ones left within the barrier.

This book had me on edge the entire time I’m reading this because I’m waiting for the great reveal of the why’s. And the mystery is killing me..😾

The world, or what’s left, is already in chaos and add up some bullies, psychotic kids, mutated animals and freakishly destructive supernatural powers, you have pandemonium.

I honestly don’t want to live within the F.A.Y.Z. or Fallout Alley Youth Zone as they call the area within the barrier.

I can relate to Sam, the lead kid. He doesn’t want to lead and be burdened with the responsibility to take care of all the kids. He’s just 14 and still needs his mom even if he hates her a bit.

I felt the helplessness of the situation. The need for order and delegating tasks to older kids. The taking care of babies was really harsh. The need to know of what’s happening.

On this novel you see how people change or crack because of pressure. I keep forgetting the fact that they’re all just kids. But then who wouldn’t crack on such situations? Even an adult will be hard up on coping.

The story was from different point of views but didn’t make me confuse. It was written in a way that connected me strongly to each of the kids in FAYZ. It has a lot of emotions, suspense and mysteries to keep me going. I felt a lot of emotions while reading this. The twists keep on coming but managed to make the story more interesting instead of chaotic. It was a great book. I don’t know if I’ll read the succeeding books (I think it’s in a series) but I’m giving it 4.5🌟.

Moment#2: TBR Finds.

image

1. Mirror in the Sky by Aditi Khorana
2. More Than This by Patrick Ness
3. Northern Lights by Philip Pullman
4. The Leaving by Tara Altebrando
5. The Way To Game The Walk of Shame by Jenn P. Nguyen
6. Change Places With Me by Lois Metzger
7. True Letters From A Fictional Life by Kenneth Logan
8. There Once Were Stars by Melanie McFarlane
9. Lies I Live By by Lauren Sabel
10. A World Without You by Beth Revis
11. Etiquette and Espionage by Gail Carriger

🍬🍬🍬🍬🍬🍬🍬🍬🍬🍬🍬🍬🍬🍬

Some of the books on my TBR Finds are not yet published. I saw a lot of anticipated release posts and the blurbs are amazing I just can’t help but add them.🙋 I’m busy watching TWO animΓ©s that I barely have time for reading..

image

NARUTO

image

ONE PIECE

Happy weekend!😘

🐰angie🐰

5 thoughts on “My Book Moments For This Week (Jun1-11)

Leave a Reply

