Hype Or Like Friday: Hyped Books You DNF

image

Hype or Like Friday is a meme created by JillLarkin, and Britt to discuss about hyped books and see if they’re hyped up or not. There would be book of the month that you can read, and then post your review for it on the end of the month, then rate it whether it’s a hype it or like it.

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller is the book of the month.

For this week, topic is Hyped Books You DNF.

I haven’t been that active on this goodreads group.✌ But I love the topic for this week, so even if it’s a bit late, here goes the Hyped Books I DNFed.

image

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
–  I’ve been trying sooo hard to finish this book. The main characters (Clary and Jace and Simon) are sooo annoying. But I really want to finish this. Hopefully by the end of the year, I’m done with this book. Wish me luck.😘

image

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
– the Door, bow.😭 The world isn’t interesting for me. This was my first Neil Gaiman book and so far the only one. I have Coraline, The Graveyard Book(?)and others on my shelf and TBR but I’m hesitant because of Neverwhere. Maybe someday?😮

image

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green
– I didn’t have an issue on this book. It just so happens that a very helpful friend of mine spoiled me on the ending. I hate spoilers. I haven’t seen the movie and still trying to NOT remember the ending. But maybe, I’ll never read this.😿

image

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
– I don’t know why I stopped reading this book. I think I wasn’t in the mood for YA contemporary that time. I don’t usually reach for books on this genre but it was so hyped that I tried it and fail.😿

image

Anna And The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
– Same with To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, not in the mood for this kind of book but because of the hype…😑 I didn’t like the tone and feel of the story. I can’t relate to the main character – Anna. There.✌

❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤

My internet connection was cut yesterday, that’s why I’m cramming a lot of supposed Friday posts today.😁

I knew I should’ve scheduled them.😿

Happy weekends😘

🌸angie🌸

18 thoughts on “Hype Or Like Friday: Hyped Books You DNF

  1. TMI definitely features a bunch of annoying characters, and it is a shame that you kind of have to read this series to be able to fully enjoy TID and TDA series, that are so much better. I was lucky enough to have read them when I was young and did not know many ways of getting better books, and I had only the last one left to get through.
    I definitely agree on Anna and the French Kiss. Whether it was the hype that ruined it for me, or it was not my cup of tea, I did not feel much while reading the book. And although I do not tend to read that many contemporaries, I do like them ofthen, and Anna just did not do anything for me.
    I have read TFIOS prior to all the hype surrounding it, and loved it. But considering how much attention the book has gotten, I do not think it is that good.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m having a hard time connecting to Clary and still trying to locate Jace’s charm,lol.😁 I really want to start reading TID because it seems better than TMI.. But I’m a bit OCD so I need to finish TMI before starting TID.😛

      Maybe YA contemporary (not sure if this is what they’re called) is not for me..😿

      Liked by 1 person

      • Good luck getting through this massive series. Although the plot gets better later, and certain storylines become more appealing, I did not find any of the books in the series above average. But my love for the other series is immense, and while TID can be read without reading TMI, I believe you appreciate the story better when you know that world.
        It might not be, although there certainly are a few really worth reading, for example Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. But most of the contemporaries are very similar, and can get boring

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve heard about Jellicoe Road before…

        I guess I really need to start/continue reading City of Bones again to achieve this goal. I kinda DNF it..

        Like

  2. Ohh I’m sorry you didn’t like Anna, it’s one of my favorite contemporary romance </3 you should be in the mood for something realllyyy light and not take it seriously 😛 City of Bones is a bit annoying but the third book is definitely the most painful of all!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I felt the same way about TMI. It took me a long time to get into the books. I pushed through and finished the second book though. I had to use the audio book and that made it easier. Maybe try those if you decide to give it another chance? It actually held my interest more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. In regards to TFIOS, I can understand how a major spoiler could ruin it, but even knowing who died can’t ruin the whole of this particular book. It is such a good sad story that has more to it then who lives and who dies. I adore John Green’s writing and this is one of his best. It is the only one that has just made me sob while reading it! (Funny enough I’ve got the movie playing right now which is actually a very good book to movie adaptation which is impressive).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

