Shadow and Bone – Book Review #5 (2017)

Title: Shadow and Bone

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Series: #1 of The Grisha 

Rating: 🌟🌟🌟.5


*WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD! Read at your own risk!*


It started sooo good. The world is not that detailed and it’s a bit of “this is what happened” instead of “showing what happened” but I did not make that much of an issue and still, I persevered.

First of all let me tell you that it’s been a long time since I added this book on my shelf. Because of the hype of the Six Of Crows duology I decided to read this book first (and eventually finish this trilogy) in preparation for my dive in to the Six Of Crows world, does that makes sense? Lol, it does to me.😁

I started this book with wariness because of the hype which I’m always wary of, haha. But it was nice. And then my ship started sailing – “Darklina” for the win.💜 I will go down with this ship. At least that’s what I thought halfway through the book..
Can you guys imagine my shock when the Darkling suddenly became evil? I mean with that name I should have known better, lol.😝

This is me just spewing whatever I can think of cause I’m writing this right after I finished this book.โœŒ
The naming of characters and terminologies are a bit of a mouthful. I mean it doesn’t flow easily on my tongue like Muggles and Azkaban which were never a word but they sound normal or I might be biased,haha.😸
Alina is whiny at the start and I don’t know, she sort of irritated me a little. Mal is one dimensional. So are the other characters. A lot of things are vague. Like everyone was skimmed over.
The character of the Darkling is inconsistent that’s why at some point I had my hopes up and honestly even after all that happened I still cling to that tiny thread of hope that “Darklina” will still sail. Yep, I just named my own ship but maybe this is really what the ship is called? I didn’t check.😽
The romance is forced. Guys just suddenly kiss girls. Yep. If the characters were shocked of the kiss well I am shocked too. Give a girl a warning.😂
The Shadow Fold is a creepy vague place. And the volcra (is that what’s it called?) are creepy and vague too. I think I gave it a fairly high rating after all the things I said because it was okay despite all that things. It wasn’t mind blowing but it wasn’t bad either.
This is too long already. Haha. I’m not sure if I’ll continue this series. We’ll see.😑

12 thoughts on “Shadow and Bone – Book Review #5 (2017)

  1. I finished the series two years ago(I think? God, that’s a long time.) and I loved it. The ending traumatized me and I absolutely refuse to read the new duology. I would have too many feels๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ
    Anyways! Even after finishing the series, my Darklina ship is still sailing, so beware, it’s hard to let go. As for Mal, he was such an annoying character. I could not see him as anything but pathetic, angry at the world and needy person. Even if he wasn’t depicted like that, compared to Darlking, he was not impressive at all and bothered me A LOT!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

