Waterfall – Book Review #18 (2017)

Title: Waterfall

Author: Lisa Tawn Bergren

Series: #1 of River of Time 

Goodreads synopsis:

Most American teenagers want a vacation in Italy, but the Betarrini sisters have spent every summer of their lives among the romantic hills with their archaelogist parents.

Stuck among the rubble of the medieval castles in rural Tuscany, on yet another hot, dusty archaeological site, Gabi and Lia are bored out of their minds…until Gabi places her hand atop a handprint in an ancient tomb and finds herself in fourteenth-century Italy. And worse yet, in the middle of a fierce battle between knights of two opposing forces.


Suddenly Gabi’s summer in Italy is much, much more interesting.


My rating: 🌟🌟🌟

I love Historical Romance with an element of Time Travel. I’ve read a few good ones and some of which are “just okay”. This first book of the River of Time series is one of the ‘just okay’ books on Time Travel Historical Romance that I’ve read so far.

3 stars is actually me being kind for the effort on the research on Etruscan or Italian history and I really love stories with Time Travel. Honestly, I don’t have any background on Italian/Etruscan history – one of the reasons I did not feel that much connected to the story.

Gabi is a whiny heroine. I know that she’s young. But her stubbornness and pride is NOT endearing at all. Lia is weak on my opinion, though her archery skills are a big help. Romana is a confusing character.

Marcelo and Luca are one dimensional prince and knight on a white horse off to save the damsels in distress, namely Gabi and Lia.

I was underwhelmed on the story and I’m sorry but I’m not interested to continue on this series.😿

Leave a Reply

