Rose Petal Graves – Book Review #30 (2022)

Title: Rose Petal Graves

Author: Olivia Wildenstein

Series: #1 of The Lost Clan

Format: Kindle Ebook

image credits to Goodreads

Goodreads synopsis:

ANCIENT SECRETS CANNOT REMAIN BURIED FOREVER.

Founded two centuries ago by a powerful tribe of Gottwa Indians, Rowan was a quiet town, so quiet that I fled after graduation. Staying away was the plan, but Mom died suddenly.

Dad said she suffered a stroke after she dug up one of the ancient graves in our backyard, which happens to be the town cemetery. Creepy, I know. Creepier still, there was no corpse inside the old coffin, only fresh rose petals.

As we made preparations for Mom’s burial, new people began arriving in Rowan, unnervingly handsome and odd people. I begged them to leave, but they stayed, because their enemies—my ancestors—were beginning to awaken.

My rating: 3.75 🌟

I’m trying to read a lot of my ARCs recently. One I’m most stressed about and wants to get rid off my shelf is the audiobook of Rose Petal Graves from NetGalley. I don’t usually listen to audiobooks, I feel like I tend to ‘read’ longer or slower compared to just my usual which is reading on my Kindle app. But then the cover and synopsis was so interesting that against my better judgement, I downloaded this one from NetGalley. And again I realized that audiobooks are really not my thing.

Since I can’t seem to listen to the audiobook, I decided to just read it on Kindle format. I managed to finish this on one seating after I switch to reading on eBook format. So this review is for a Kindle eBook and not an audiobook. I also realized while reading this that fantasy is a genre that I can’t easily get into.

The book has some sort of Glossary of terms at the start of the book which was not helpful for me. Lol. The book started with how Cat and his dad is trying to move on after the death of Cat’s mother. Then came in the faes which I was not aware is a theme of this book. I have this weird opinion or feeling about faes, I feel like they are not believable/realistic(?) in a book. I thought this one is a story about immortals or vampires basing it on the synopsis but it is not and this one is New Adult not YA.

The world building is very shaky and a lot of plot holes and loopholes are in the story which confused me. Also in case you are trying to avoid this trope, there’s also a [love triangle (or is it square?) in this story.

I still gave it an okay rating because it was a quick read for me. Things got interesting on the latter part and I somehow got transported to Rowan. It is also an atmospheric read. I feel like I was in the town described on the book. It is still an enjoyable read. 🙂

TW/CW: death of a love one, grief, suicide

*Thanks to the publisher for making this audiobook available for review via Netgalley. This review is voluntary and contains my honest thoughts and opinions of the book.*


It’s great that I can finish one book in a day. Hopefully I won’t get a reading slump doing this. XD

GOODREADS | TWITTER

One thought on “Rose Petal Graves – Book Review #30 (2022)

  1. Pingback: May 2022 Monthly Wrap Up | My Reading Journey

Leave a comment